Release Talk

New Release – On The Other side by The Frontier

todayOctober 15, 2021 37

share close

The Frontier was formed by Jake Mimikos and is a personal journey in the form of indie/rock, pop, and folk music. His new track ‘On The Other Side’ was released today.

“I think stylistically the song captures the vibes of the last few songs I’ve released. I’ve been focussing a bit more on that lately. I’m trying to get more of a defined sound with these latest releases. I can’t say how long I’ll stick with it, but it’s working for me so far. I like this kind of catchy folk/rock corner I’m in right now. Even though it has similar vibes to the last few releases, I feel like it still stands out a bit from the rest. This one is a bit more rock sounding than I’ve done in a while.”

“The music for this song came to me, oddly enough, when I was creating a video on Tik-tok. At the time, I was just messing around and posting little videos of me playing with my looper pedal. One of the loops I created had this really cool lead part over this simple progression. When I heard it I knew instantly I wanted to develop it a bit more and turn it into a song. You can hear the lead guitar part over most of the song in the background. It’s really simple, but to me it was the coolest thing hearing it come together.”

“For the first time I actually recorded a couple of the instruments at my home studio. The majority of the song was recorded in Gainesville, VA with my producer Austin Bello (Forever the Sickest Kids). I’ve worked with Austin for years and I looked forward to going back again for another release. I’m hoping to get back again soon to record more!”

Written by: leancool20

Rate it

Previous post

Release Talk

New Release – The Doubters Dance (EP) by Iona James and Clint Slate

Iona James (nurse, singer/songwriter, trying to do something she loves) and Clint Slate (singer/songwriter and multi instrumentalist) released their EP ‘The Silent Sea’ in June 2021. On October 15th they will be releasing another EP together called ‘The Doubters Dance’ containing 4 tracks: ‘Firefly’, ‘Enough’, ‘Summer’ and ‘Shot in the Dark’. Here's what Iona had to say about the upcoming release: “There is a sense of excitement with this release […]

todayOctober 14, 2021 41